1: Frank Sinatra: In the Wee Small Hours

I only really know Sinatra from clips of old films and cheesy easy listening stuff.

I put this on with low expectations, it’s certainly on the “I’ll listen so the list is complete” end of things. But, I listened to it 3-4 times yesterday, and I’ve put it on again today. I don’t think it’s ground breaking musically (the book says it was the first proper album, may that’s why it’s in here?),¬†and it’s “a bit rapey” in places (I suspect lots of the early stuff will be though), but it is enjoyable, it’s calming. And it made me quite like the world for a few hours, casually smiling at people and chatting to strangers

6/10

Leave a Reply

